Ho’omaika’i ‘Ana 2008 Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards Finalists

The Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards are Hawaii’s version of the Grammy Music Awards. They are held on an annual basis each Spring. The Hōkū awards were created in 1978 by Krash Kealoha and are currently being presented by the Hawaiian Academy of Recording Arts (HARA).

The Favorite Entertainer of the year is voted on by the public. Ballots are distributed through record stores and radio stations in Hawaii a week prior to the awards. Members of the Hawaiian Music industry vote on all other categories except for the technical categories. The technical categories are voted on by local resident recording artists, studio technicians, engineers, producers, writers, graphic artists, liner note annotators and others with local recording credit.

The award ceremonies are broadcast on television throughout Hawaii. Some the groups and artists that have received the most Hoku awards over the years include the Brothers Cazimero, the Makaha Sons, Keali’i Reichel, Melveen Leed, and the Peter Moon Band.

Source: History of the Na Hoku Hanohano Awards

Keola Donaghy who is a member of the HARA Board of Governors, has the 2008 Nā Hōkū Hanohano Final Ballot posted at Nahenahe.Net. If you take a look you’ll notice many familiar names that have been featured on 808Talk (Mighty J, Darin Leong, Keali’i Reichel, I.A., O-Shen, Opihi Pickers, Afatia) as well as many other friends and favorites of 808Talk (King Kekai, John Cruz, Barefoot Natives, Katchafire).

For those of you living in Hawaii, you can stop by any Borders and cast your vote for “Favorite Entertainer of the Year” and let your voice be heard. If you’re an actual Hōkū voting member and need some help making your decision this year, Bran Da Icon has made his personal picks available on his MySpace Blog and says you can just copy his picks…LOL.

Featured video is a clip from the 2007 Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards when Henry Kapono took home the “Rock Album of the Year.”

We at 808Talk extend our congratulations (ho’omaika’i ‘ana) to all the 2008 finalists!

Be sure and check back for a future update for the complete list of winners from the 2008 Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards.

Nā Hōkū Hanohano Awards
Tuesday June 17, 2008
Hawaii Convention Center
Cost: Members – $75.00 / Non-Members – $85.00

What is RSS?If you enjoyed this post, make sure and subscribe to the RSS Feed RSS Feed!
Or you could read this blog via Email Subscription Email Subscription.

Leave a Reply